Crunchyroll Reveals Nominees For 3rd Annual Anime Awards [Update]

By January 11, 2019 No Comments

Crunchyroll Reveals Nominees For 3rd Annual Anime Awards [Update] 2

Crunchyroll has announced the nominees for this year’s Anime Awards. This year, there are five new categories: Best Character Design, Best Director, Best Fight Scene, and Best Performance by a Voice Actor–both for Japanese and English.

Megalobox is the dominant series this year, nominated for eight of the 15 categories, including Anime of the Year. For Anime of the Year, Megalobox is joined by A Place Further Than the Universe, Devilman Crybaby, Violet Evergarden, Hinamatsuri, and Zombie Land Saga. My Hero Academia, which dominated the last Anime Awards, is only nominated for Best Animation and Best Boy this year. [Update: A previous version of this article noted both My Hero Academia protagonist Midoriya and his childhood friend Bakugo were nominated for the Best Boy category. However, there was a miscommunication between us and Crunchyroll, and it’s really Haida from Aggretsuko and not Bakugo who made the cut.]

Fan voting is live and you’ll have until January 18 at 11:59PM PT to submit your choices for which shows you think deserve to win. Head over to Crunchyroll’s Anime Awards portal to submit your votes.

The full list of categories and their nominees are outlined below.

Crunchyroll Anime Awards Category Nominees

Anime of the Year

  • A Place Further Than the Universe
  • Devilman Crybaby
  • Megalobox
  • Violet Evergarden
  • Hinamatsuri
  • Zombie Land Saga

Best Animation

  • Violet Evergarden
  • Devilman Crybaby
  • Megalobox
  • A Place Further Than the Universe
  • Bloom into You
  • My Hero Academia Season 3

Best Opening Sequence

  • Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku
  • Darling in the Franxx
  • Kakegurui: Compulsive Gambler
  • Pop Team Epic
  • Aggretsuko
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

Best Ending Sequence

  • Megalobox
  • Attack on Titan Season 3
  • After the Rain
  • FLCL Alternative
  • Revue Starlight
  • FLCL Progressive

Best Film

  • Night is Short, Walk On Girl
  • My Hero Academia: Two Heroes
  • Mirai of the Future
  • Liz and the Blue Bird
  • Mazinger Z: Infinity
  • Fireworks

Best Character Design

  • Violet Evergarden
  • Devilman Crybaby
  • Zombie Land Saga
  • Megalobox
  • Aggretsuko
  • JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind

Best Boy

  • Kotaro Tatsumi
  • Honda-san
  • Izuku Midoriya
  • Sakuta Azusagawa
  • Haida
  • Joe

Best Girl

  • Anzu
  • Hinata Miyake
  • Lily Hoshikawa
  • Asirpa
  • Nadeshiko Kagamihara
  • Mai Sakurajima

Best VA Performance (JP)

  • Mamoru Miyano
  • Soma Saito
  • Megumi Han
  • Nao Toyama
  • Rareko
  • Reina Ueda

Best VA Performance (EN)

  • Kari Wahlgren
  • Christopher Sabat
  • Erica Mendez
  • David Wald
  • Tia Ballard
  • Erika Harlacher

Best Director

  • Masaaki Yuasa
  • Atsuko Ishizuka
  • You Moriyama
  • Yohei Suzuki
  • Taichi Ishidate
  • Hiroko Utsumi

Best Protagonist

  • Retsuko
  • Yumeko Jabami
  • Joe
  • Violet Evergarden
  • Rimuru Tempest
  • Sakuta Azusagawa

Best Antagonist

  • Ryo Asuka
  • Akane Shinjo
  • All For One
  • Yuri
  • Tokushiro Tsurumi
  • Momonga

Best Fight Scene Presented by Capcom

  • Hina vs Anzu
  • All for One vs All Might
  • Naruto & Sasuke vs Momoshiki
  • Jiren vs Goku
  • Yami vs Licht
  • Satan vs Devilman

Best Continuing Series Presented by VRV

  • The Ancient Magus’ Bride
  • Dragon Ball Super
  • Black Clover
  • March comes in like a lion
  • One Piece
  • Boruto: Naruto Next Generations
Source link


Author 360fov

More posts by 360fov

✔️ Now the BEST part ... jump into the discussion & leave YOUR thoughts ✍️